How to Create a Professional Website Using WordPress

As someone who is in the marketing field, I felt creating a professional website would be a great way to market my skills and what I have to offer while I was looking for a new job. After creating my site and sharing it with friends and family, I thought it might be a good idea to share how I did this.

Hopefully this will help you if you’re looking to create a simple, yet aesthetically pleasing site to display your work.

Here is the whole process broken down step-by-step:

Step 1: Create a WordPress account. This is simple enough just follow the instructions:

  • For what is your website about I chose business and services, seeing as the main purpose for my website was to market myself professionally
  • From there I chose the most relevant sub topic for my career path
  • From there you can choose a theme! This can be a time consuming process, but you will always be able to change it later. I chose a free theme, Sela.
  • Next you choose your domain. This is going to be the name of your site. Choose something professional, most people use their name. For example, my site is laurasasaninejadblog.wordpress.com. *I chose to go with the free option
  • Finalize making your account!

 

Step 2: Customize your site and adding pages. WordPress has some great customization tools, just click on your site in the top left corner and start customizing your theme.

My Pages:

You can really expand what you want your viewers to experience on your website. My main pages are:

  • Hello
  • Contact
  • Resume
  • Portfolio
  • About Me

I will go into some detail on these pages, because I feel this is a good starting point for anyone.

Home Page/Welcome Page:

This is the first thing that visitors will see when they come to your site. You want it seem warm, inviting, and basically provide a summary of what it is they are going to find on your website.

For my Welcome Page I included a simple “hello” message. In the page editor it’s pretty simple to customize the text, you simply type in what you would like your viewers to see. You can also add a featured image. For this, I used I photo I had taken recently in Fort Lauderdale.

You can also customize other settings, such as sharing options, and allowing comments. Once you are satisfied with you message, simply click “publish” and it is now live on your site!

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 8.53.32 AM

Contact Page:

Ok, this page can be a little tricky because you are going to have to use some basic HTML, which you can see in the below screen shot. I basically just googled contact forms in HTML for WordPress. Feel free to copy my format:

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 8.59.41 AM

 

 

Overall, the main purpose for this page is to provide your viewer with how to get in touch with you. I included my address, phone number and email.

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 9.11.46 AM

 

Resume Page:

This page is very important because if you are creating a professional website, chances are you are trying to gain new clients or even a new employer.

I simply crated a hyperlink text that connects to my uploaded resume on WordPress. All you have to do is write the text you want, “Download My Resume”, select your text and hit the add media key (it looks like a polaroid picture), and select your uploaded document, or it’s not already uploaded go to the documents tab within the add media option and upload your document there.

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 9.11.34 AM

About Me: 

This page is just a little about me, what I enjoy and my background. I chose to talk about why I chose marketing/communications for my career and what led me to this point in my life. I also included a photo of me doing something I love. This is also a great place to put any certification badges, I put my InBound Certification badges from Hubspot.

 Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 9.12.33 AM 

Portfolio Page:

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 9.38.50 AM

Ok, this one is also kind of tricky. I did two things:

  • Uploaded my print resume using Issuu. If you don’t have one it’s ok, but if you do you might as well include it. I simply pasted the embedded link in my page editor text box. You could also use the document method mentioned in Resume Page.
  • Created subpages for each project and/or employer I have worked at and provided examples of work using the document method, while also providing a little background info on the project/employer.

To create a sub page: When you create a sub page you do everything you have done previously, but before you publish you go to the left hand column and select “Page Options”, from there you select your parent page, is this case that is “Portfolio”.

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 9.11.15 AM

 

Blog:

I created a blog page on my website so that I could talk about important marketing and communications topics that relate to what I do professionally. From there I did create post preview boxes on my main page, this way viewers could see right away what I specialize in.

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 9.42.03 AM

You can do this too but you are going to have to check with the theme settings on the theme you selected. It will walk you through any customization options for your theme. Mine also features testimonials, which are also on my home page.

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 9.42.18 AM

 

 

So this is pretty much how you make a website! Google will be your best friend, there are tons of tips and tricks out there to guide you. After you get the bones together you can start customizing with fonts, header images and much more!

If you would like to check out my site and take a look around, click here.

Feel free to contact me with any questions 🙂

Cheers and happy weekend!

 

